Amanda Wehberg

I am an artist, college student, and daycare worker. I blog about anything that's on my mind at any given time.

My First Time Reading “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain”

on January 10, 2015

IMG_0166

Now I have considered myself an artist for a very long time, and my grandmother got me this book back when I was in high school (at age 15). Of course, for some odd reason I never had the chance to read this book until now (I am now 24 years old by the way…).

Because I am not quite done reading the book, I can’t summarize the whole thing, but I can say that what I did read so far felt like deja vu! I say this because I do remember doing some of the drawing exercises in some of my high school art classes and I have learned the whole right-brain/left-brain subject. I even have the same viewpoint as the author (so far) that anyone can acquire the skill of drawing because practice makes perfect.

I was never formally trained in the arts, but I do feel that a lot of the art terminology is familiar to me. It is always good, however, for me to be refreshed on familiar things so that the skills I acquired won’t be forgotten. The book to me seems only slightly outdated because of some of the wording the author of the book uses, but other than that, I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates drawing.

Leave a Reply

