Amanda Wehberg

I am an artist, college student, and daycare worker. I blog about anything that's on my mind at any given time.

Why Not Just Take a Picture?

on January 14, 2015

IMG_0166I am using this image I took a picture of again, because I was in the process of reading this book when I came across a quote that really got to me.

I remember my cousin, who is also an artist, told my family about a time when he worked tirelessly on a portrait for his class, only for his art professor to ask “why don’t you just take a picture?” I, along with everyone else that heard this story, disagrees with the professor’s (quite demeaning) remark.

According to Betty Edwards,

“I believe one answer is that the purpose of realistic drawing is not simply to record data, but rather to record your unique perception- how you personally see something- and, moreover, how you understand the thing you are drawing (Edwards, 1999, p.102)”.

I most definitely couldn’t agree more with this quote, because I take this quote as something that tells people to express themselves. In art, I also believe that is the purpose of drawing or anything related to art.

Again, as I go through reading this book, I find more and more reasons to recommend this book to anyone: beginners in art, professionals, and anyone in between.

Here are some links you may want to visit to order this book:

http://www.drawright.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Drawing-Right-Side-Brain-Definitive/dp/1585429201

Betty Edwards, (1999). The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. Canada.

Leave a Reply

