Amanda Wehberg

I am an artist, college student, and daycare worker. I blog about anything that's on my mind at any given time.

Moody

on February 8, 2015

IMG_0234

So I blogged 2 years ago about my cousin Mark when he showed my friend Jess and I his student art studio. He graduated from Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) in 2014. Since then, he has done some art shows in different galleries. I had the honor of being invited to one of his art shows today. Of course, I couldn’t go to the opening because I had to work a double shift and he said it was crazy last night anyway.

IMG_0228

When the family and I went into the gallery, since we were the only ones there at the time today, I at first had no idea what art would be there. The reason was that I really haven’t taken the time to see his work online before the show. I liked a lot of the artwork because most of them were ones I had never seen before and I for one LOVE abstract paintings! My absolute favorite part of the gallery as a whole was that there was a black room with a video he did of a man painting on a canvas. I just liked it because it was a black room πŸ˜€

IMG_0227

The picture above that Mark painted is an image that was photoshopped to look blurry. Then he painted it on canvas to look blurry. This painting was the favorite of the whole family, but it wasn’t my favorite, although it was pretty amazing.

IMG_0231

My favorite image that he painted was the image above of an abstract looking hotdog. The reason for this is because it fits more with Mark’s signature style of painting to me. Plus it isn’t blurry. My family all said I liked it because I was hungry. But I wasn’t really all that hungry. I think they said that because I didn’t like what they like. I don’t know. Anyway, being at the show was a great opportunity for me to see other people’s art besides my own once in awhile.

IMG_0237

By the way, this is some of the family. From left to right: my uncle (who was behind my aunt so I didn’t get a whole image of him), my aunt, my grandma, and my dad.

7 responses to “Moody

  1. cutegirl5 says:

    Those are all so amazing! πŸ˜ƒ
    I wish I was better at art!

    • Amanda says:

      I do art too (the recent one I have on here of mine is on “my palette vs. my painting). As an artist, I can tell you that everyone is good at art. If you want to be better at art, I highly recommend that you read “drawing on the right side of the brain”.

  2. It seems like you’ve got an amazing family πŸ™‚ And great art btw.

    • Amanda says:

      Oh it’s my cousin’s. I will try to blog more about mine. But thanks.

      • Oh! Wait, sorry and yes I know it was your cousin’s; I guess the way I used the word ‘family’ created some confusion.
        The thing is that in my country ‘family’ is a big word (where everyone is included – cousins, in laws and everyone LOL). haha! It is weird and funny. Apologies for contextual differences. And yes! I’d love to see more of your art too πŸ™‚

  3. Amanda says:

    Totally understandable. I think of family as including (almost) everyone since there are some family members out there I don’t know since my family is really big. And others were disowned by other family members because of drug use and criminal acts towards our family (on my dads side not my moms)
    The way you used family wasn’t confusing, it was the last part (I don’t know how that can possibly be confusing but ok) but now I understand..

Leave a Reply

